September 26, 2023
This Week in Massachusetts – September 26
Editor’s note – This is the final edition of This Week in Massachusetts. Stay tuned as AIM introduces…Read More
Posted on September 2, 2020
Massachusetts has added four states to its list of low-risk states that do not require travelers to fill out a form, undergo testing or quarantine.
Under the Aug. 1 travel ban, anyone entering Massachusetts from other states is required to fill out a “Massachusetts Travel Form” and quarantine for two weeks unless s/he can produce a negative result from a COVID-19 test administered no more than 72 hours before arriving in the state.
Starting Saturday, travelers entering Massachusetts from Pennsylvania, Delaware, West Virginia and Colorado will no longer need to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or produce a negative COVID-19 test upon arrival. The Department of Public Health added the four states to its list of lower-risk states that are already exempt from the restrictions in the Massachusetts travel order – New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire.
Rhode Island and Hawaii, originally on the low-risk list, were removed after case numbers in those locations rose.
Rhode Island remains the only state in New England on which Massachusetts imposes travel restrictions, although the quarantine-or-test requirement does not apply to those commuting for work or errands or individuals who pass through Rhode Island while traveling from a lower-risk state.
Failure to comply with the requirements could result in a $500 per day fine.